Hazellief graduates Florida Sheriffs Association’s Commanders Academy

Posted 5/22/23

Congratulations to Major Hazellief!

Tallahassee, Fla. (May 19, 2023) …

You must be a member to read this story.

Join our family of readers for as little as $5 per month and support local, unbiased journalism.

Already have an account? Log in to continue. Otherwise, follow the link below to join.

Please log in to continue

Log in
I am anchor

Hazellief graduates Florida Sheriffs Association’s Commanders Academy


OKEECHOBEE — Okeechobee County Sheriff's Office Major Hazellief was part of the Florida Sheriffs Association Announces the 2023 Commanders Academy Graduating Class 12 in Tallahassee, on May 19,

Sheriff deputies and personal representing 34 Florida sheriffs’ offices graduated from the Florida Sheriffs Association’s (FSA) prestigious Commanders Academy.

The Commanders Academy is an exceptionally informative and educational experience that is vital for public safety leaders of the next generation.
The Commanders Academy has become recognized as the premier course of executive study for mid to upper-level criminal justice leaders.
The core curriculum focuses on leadership, ethics, discipline, and additional subject matter areas related to upper-level leadership in law enforcement. The remaining curriculum is adjusted according to emerging trends and issues that have an impact on our sheriffs and recent high-profile events.
Each topic is threaded with issues that are unique to the culture of the Office of Sheriff. Throughout the two-week course, the class hears from more than 50 presenters and panelists, many of whom were sheriffs. No other criminal justice program in the state provides this level of executive training.
“Congratulations to the 2023 Commanders Academy graduates for completing this rigorous course to advance their leadership skills, problem-solving tactics and business ethics,” said FSA President and Hernando County Sheriff Al Nienhuis
“These commanders are now even more prepared to serve as law enforcement leaders who set a model example of protecting and uniting Florida’s citizens and visitors.”
FSA Executive Director Steve Casey said, “The comprehensive curriculum and forward-thinking training offered through the Commanders Academy empowers our commanders, deputies, and staff to excel in the service of modern policing.
Florida’s Sheriffs offices are consistently recognized for their commitment to integrity and accountability. Commanders Academy graduates maintain this standard of excellence by applying lessons learned from senior professionals to real-world challenging situations.”
In addition to successfully completing the training course, Commanders Academy Class 12 also raised more than $32,250.00 for the Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches.
This generous donation will help support the mission of the Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranches in preventing delinquency and to develop lawful, resilient, and productive citizens.
The class included:
- Sergeant Robert Simpkins, Baker County
- Captain Myron Guilford, Bay County
Lieutenant Bradley Witt, Bradford County
- Lieutenant Brent Hertenlehner, Charlotte County
- Lieutenant Bobby Lambert, Citrus County
- Lieutenant Christopher Goldhorn, Collier County
- Lieutenant Howard Bulthuis Jr., Columbia County
-Commander Frederick Gimbel, Flagler County
- Lieutenant James Ward, Franklin County
- Lieutenant Jozell McWhite, Gadsden County
- Captain Sylvia DeLaTorre, Hardee County
- Lieutenant Scott Reak, Hernando County
- Captain Steven Stoll, Indian River County
- Captain Steven L. Stewart II, Jackson County
- Lieutenant Jason Kerley, Lake County
-Captain Lakisha Snow, Leon County
- Captain Robert "Bobby" Revell, Liberty County
- Captain Jarrod Lauth, Madison County
- Captain Dennis Romano, Manatee County
- Captain Christopher Vorisek, Marion County
- Captain Vivian Louis, Miami-Dade County
- Captain Kay Lynn Crews, Nassau County
- Lieutenant Donald (DJ) Folley, Okaloosa County
- Major Michael Hazellief, Okeechobee County
- Captain Chris Barrett, Orange County
- Major Robert Alderman, Osceola County
- Lieutenant Kurt Walker, Polk County
- Lieutenant Jared Guy, Putman County
- Captain Chris Vance, Santa Rosa County
- Captain Daniel Tutko, Sarasota County
- Lieutenant Crystal Foley, Seminole County
- Lieutenant Shawn Emert, St. Johns County
- Lieutenant James Willingham, St. Lucie County
- Captain Dale Evans, Wakulla County.